Originally Posted By: samhain

I've got a series of excel spread sheets that I've tried to catagorize/prioritize what stuff needs to go where, but I think I've been trying to cover too many bases too haphazardly.

Sounds like your on the same track I am. Make a new blank spreadsheet (I use OpenOffice instead of Excel but thats a whole different thread) for your overall plan. This is where you take a step back and think things at a high level. Instead of knife or flashlight your thinking EDC/BOB/etc
I like the idea of using my backpacking gear as part of the family BOB. It doesn't make sense to have duplicate gear in all places which is where I felt like I was heading.

Plan:

1) Make a specific disaster plan. (I already have the basics of one with meeting places, etc), and incorporate it into the family control log my wife is building. I'm carrying too much of this stuff in my head.

I work in IT so Disaster Recovery is a common thing. I made a personal/home DR Plan. Much like the ones I see at the office that say what if this regional processing center or data center goes down mine says what if I have to leave my house or what if my house is destroyed.

2) Make Shopping / improvising list to cover what I don't have focusing on quality.

Not only quality gear but make sure it fits in with your master plan, for example don't buy a camping trailer if you don't have a vehicle to tow it with or don't buy gear you don't plan on learning to use.

2) Schedule rotation schedule for expiring supplies (already have a semi-routine for hurricane season).

I found spreadsheets work well here too, make rows with each todo and then make columns of weekly, monthly, yearly, etc times. I used to use a calendar with todo's and such but it was too easy to snooze those reminders. I now will open the spreadsheet when I get a chance and do everything that needs done.

Intervention:

2) Add one element per paycheck to add.