Quote:
Im very interested in what makes a Surefire worth its price. As I have no experience with the brand.

Well, that's a value judgement I can't make for anyone else, of course.

In researching for my own needs I bought a number of flashlights. I ended up wtih an Inova, an Infinity (now Gerber), a Streamlight, an Underwater Kinetics (UK), and I previously had several MagLite versions, Tektites, and a Pelican Stealthlite (my past favorite).

Based on what I had read on the candlepower forums, broke down and bought the Surefire L4. At the time I thought I was being very foolish to get caught up in the enthusiasm, but then I don't tend to skimp on things I think I might really depend on. That's a matter of outlook.

When it arrived, I was just flat-out amazed. Even though I had done a fair amount of research, my first impression was that it was MUCH smaller and lighter than I expected. It also has the distinct feel of precise machining in a tiny jewel-like object. Then I turned it on...

The beam is the brightest flashlight I've ever used, by far, and outshines any of the others very easily- most, shone on the same surface next to the beam from the L4, simply become invisible. It is not only blinding to look into the beam, it is quite painful. It's white, very even, almost free of artifacts- that is, there's a "hot spot" in the center, and a "corona" or "spill" around that, but almost no uneveness, and no shadows.

So, is it worth the very high price? That's hard to say, but it is certainly true that it makes every other flashlight I own or have used seem some combination of bulky, heavy, clunky, fragile, or dim.

If I lost the Surefire, I would buy another. I'm not sure that's true of any of the others.