Hello,-I'm a Relative Newcomer to this Site and Forum. And certainly this Thread. I Have Many Years of Firebuilding Experience Behind me, and a "Sense of It All". Even if I'm Not yet Up on All of your Methods and Gadgets / Means,-I am Well Experienced and "Firesensed".

I Know One's Gotta "Guttily Go Along"!,-with the Moment to Moment, Conditions of a Firestarting Situation!,-One Can't just Merely and Doobily Go Thru the Obligatory Motions! -To Do That is a Real Hit or Miss Affair,-and It's of course Most Typically Often,-a Miss! -No Dang Wonder!,-that Such Firestarters often Don't Get It! -It of course Shud Not be a Matter of "Dah!,-I Guess I've Got to Put Another Stick on Now!" -But All Too Often,-I'm Afraid some Novice Firestarters are Under such Illusions and Spirit! At Least back in my Scouting Days and Troop,-a Good Enuf of my Fellow Scouts,-were More or Less Like That!

- Point I'm Driving At,-is that you've Got to Have the Materials, Means, Equipment,(If Only a Match!), and Techniques / Methods,-All Right,- -But you've Also Got to Have the Spirit and Sense of It All!,-the Leadership Guiding Over It and the Wanting To!

But the Firecraft Lackings Common among Many Scouts,-that I've been Much Reading of here Lately,-Has Begun to Become a Little Too Much!, for me. I Have to Make a Constructive Comment and Contribution.

And This concerns,-the Sizeable Prevelence,-for Whatever Reason,-of Sorry Firecraft and Firesense,-Among Many a Scout! I again was a Boy Scout once myself,-and I Know Well How at Least in my Troop,-a Lot of Fellow Scouts were Pretty Much just Obligatorily Going Thru the Motions!,-Heart and Spirit Not Really in It!,-Frankly Often just Goofing Around! So Much of Successful Firebuilding is WANTING to Build a Fire!,- Sure the Proper Materials, and their Relative Combinations, Timing, and Placement, -are So Much of It as Well. But Somebody's Gotta WANT To! -As Well as Have the Overall Sense, Knack, and Spirit of It All!