The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#84798 - 02/03/07 03:05 PM Advice on quality knife sharpening kits
oldsoldier Offline
Old Hand

Loc: MA
I am looking to get the best working edge possible out of my knives. As I am new to sharpening (normally, I take it to a knife shop, & have them put an edge on it), but want to learn this art for myself. I know there are literally tons of different products out there for sharpening. What I am looking for is a product I can use at home, to get a razors edge. Preferably a kit-type. I had watched a video of Ray Mears sharpening knives, and he had a setup that included a coarse grit, fine grit, a super-fine grit, and a smaller rubbing stone, or something similar (may have been a compound, not sure), that went on green, and, after going over a super-fine stone, turned black. It also had a little stone holder thing, that the stone fit into, with rubber feet on the bottom to keep it from sliding around. I think the superfine was like either 3000 or 6000 grit. Then, lastly, he stropped it (no help here, I am familiar with stropping a blade).
Anyone have any suggestions on these types of kits? Thanks!

#84799 - 02/03/07 03:51 PM Re: Advice on quality knife sharpening kits
KenK Offline
"Be Prepared"
Pooh-Bah

Loc: NE Wisconsin
I have a bunch of sharpening tools (kits, stones, holders, etc...), but they've all sat idle since I purchased a Spyderco Sharpmaker. Simple and very effective. I heartily recommend it.

If you've got knives that have REALLY nasty edges and need complete reprofiling, then you might want to consider getting a set of diamond sticks for the Sharpmaker too.

#84800 - 02/03/07 04:03 PM Re: Advice on quality knife sharpening kits
duckear Offline
Addict

I agree, get the Spyderco Sharpmaker. Best $40 or so you will spend.

Or, convex your blades using sandpaper and mouse pads. (look around at knifefourms.com for details)