Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#31517 - 09/07/04 08:50 PM EMT training
GoatRider Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Maple Grove, MN
Hi,

What's involved with getting certified as an EMT?

Here's the story. My wife is a family practice physician. I'm a private pilot, just about to get my Commercial rating. My wife is thinking of working in a very lightly populated area such as Alaska or the desert SW. I would fly her to her various clinics, and help her in any way I can in the clinics. EMT skills would complement my wife's skills very nicely.

- How much training would be involved? Any suggestions for schools in the St. Paul, MN area? I see by a brief web search that the red cross and various community colleges give courses. Any preference?

- I'm a good book learner. Are there any books I can study ahead of time that would make the coursework easier? Or is it really a lot more hands-on?

- What level would be the most appropriate?

- How transferrable would my certificate and training in MN be in other states? Would I need additional training to be certified there?

- The red cross has a "first responder" course also. Do you think this might be useful instead?

- Is this just a pipe dream?

The red cross also gives a course titled "Wilderness First Aid", a 3 day course held weekend after next at a Gander Mountain store 2 blocks from my house. That's a course that would be useful for me (and maybe even my wife) even if we don't follow through with this idea.

#31518 - 09/07/04 08:56 PM Re: EMT training
paramedicpete Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Frederick, Maryland
Contact your local Fire/Rescue Department, they can help you with local training oppertunities. Also take a look at the NREMT web site, as many of the answers to your questions may be found there. Pete

http://www.nremt.org/about/nremt_news.asp

#31519 - 09/07/04 09:04 PM Re: EMT training
Anonymous
Unregistered

Goatrider,

It doesn't sound like a pipedream, it sounds like a brilliant idea.