The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#301759 - 06/06/23 11:27 PM Everyone Should Have a Shortwave Radio
Jeanette_Isabelle Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Nacogdoches, Texas
During dinner tonight, my mom and I talked about current events and the possibility of an EMP. We currently own a shortwave radio, but my mom suggested that it would be a good idea for everyone to have one. What are your thoughts on this? Do you believe that everyone should have a shortwave radio?

Jeanette Isabelle

#301760 - 06/07/23 01:41 AM Re: Everyone Should Have a Shortwave Radio [Re: Jeanette_Isabelle]
chaosmagnet Offline
Sheriff
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: USA
I’m a radio nerd. I’m an active ham radio operator, have a GMRS license and train others on emergency communications regularly. Predictably I have a bunch of radios, many of them that can receive shortwave broadcasts.

Unfortunately, there hasn’t been a lot of shortwave broadcast radio that has been interesting to me. While I’m a fan of having a one, it would be a lower priority for me in the “communications” group than a good local AM/FM receiver and communications with your neighbors. If your space, financial or other constraints keep you from having all the radios you want, my suggestion is that shortwave be last on your list.

You can easily get a receiver that covers shortwave and local broadcast, of course. One of my favorite radios is the now-discontinued Kenwood TH-F6A, which is a VHF and UHF ham radio transceiver. It also receives AM, FM and broadcast radio. It’s small and easy to carry — I keep one in my laptop bag.

Edited by chaosmagnet (06/07/23 11:39 PM)
Edit Reason: Fixed a broken sentence

#301761 - 06/07/23 05:03 AM Re: Everyone Should Have a Shortwave Radio [Re: chaosmagnet]
Bingley Offline
Veteran