The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#300605 - 01/19/22 12:15 PM Computer questions
Chisel Offline
Veteran

Hi everyone

I have a small desk and the area left beside the laptop is very small. So, time to time I have to put papers or notepad on the laptop keyboard when I am writing something. This may accidently press some buttons. A few time I got a screen turned 90 degrees !!!. And the only way I knew to fix it back was to shut down the computer and turn on again. It must be some button combination that I have not figured out yet.

Yesterday, another thing happened the same way. I had papers to write on and something happened on the laptop screen. I coudn't figure it out initially, but later seems like a resolution issue. I had a picture as a background in the center of the screen. This picture reduced in size. I started Word and Excel, both fill the screen OK. The file explorer seems OK too , but seems there is a change in the file names : the font seems smaller or thinner. I wasn't as comfortable to read them like before. Seems to me (according to my limited knowledge) that screen resolution might have been increased to the max. I tried to change it back but there seems to be only one (the recommended) option which was: 1920 x 1080

I restarted the laptop , and nothing changed.

What can I do to undo this and make reading a bit more comfortable like before ?

Thanks

#300606 - 01/19/22 02:48 PM Re: Computer questions [Re: Chisel]
Eugene Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Windows (assuming windows but when asking a computer question its always a good idea to tell if windows/mac/linux/whatever) has rotate in as a keyboard shortcut, hold the ctrl and alt and then cursor keys, the up will return to 'normal', down will flip, left and right will rotate left and right.

Laptops and LCD's typically have one resolution to choose from since the pixel size can't change but can sometimes include other resolutions and scale the display.