Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#298116 - 01/17/21 02:13 PM Offline Maps App Thoughts
chaosmagnet Offline
Sheriff
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: USA
The app I’ve been using for many years, MotionX GPS, is no longer available (https://support.motionx.com/). While it still works, I want to find something that is currently supported.

It’s worth saying out loud that I strongly believe in knowing how to use a paper map and compass, and carrying those things with you when you leave the pavement. However, I can envision many circumstances where having an electronic GPS mapping capability is worthwhile. I can also make a strong argument for a dedicated device, especially for expedition-type travel. Don’t let me stop you from buying an InReach or something like it.

With the limitations of smartphones understood, an offline mapping app is still worth having to me.

The features I want to have include:
  • Moving map capability
  • Downloadable maps that do not expire
  • Accurate maps (location accuracy is device, GNSS, overhead cover, RFI, and terrain dependent, largely not app dependent)
  • Easily saved waypoints
  • Both road and terrain maps
  • No intrusive ads or other irritants
  • No unreasonable privacy violations by the app’s developer
  • Reasonable cost

So far I’ve evaluated (if only very briefly):

Google Maps. Free, ubiquitous, and very easy to use, I’ll keep using it for lots of things but downloaded maps expire after 30 days, so it doesn’t fit the bill for this function, for me.

Waze. Owned by Google, great for driving but does not cache much for long and does not cover terrain.

Maps.Me. Uses Open Street Maps, easy to use (after getting past the cartoonish splash screen), map downloads are highly optimized, seems fantastic for offline navigation on pavement, including finding points of interest. No off-pavement capability of note. I’ll be keeping this app for now, I may end up using two apps.