Page 3 of 15 < 1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 15 >
Topic Options
#297259 - 10/12/20 08:11 PM Re: Any shortages where you are? [Re: brandtb]
chaosmagnet Offline
Sheriff
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: USA
Originally Posted By: brandtb
Edited to add - I post this as a straight forward answer to the question, without political comment.

There is an automated setting for the forum that replaces certain words. I have never messed with it, and unless Doug asks me to I'll be leaving it alone. Your inadvertent mention of one of those terms in your post was not objectionable.

chaosmagnet

#297260 - 10/12/20 08:18 PM Re: Any shortages where you are? [Re: TeacherRO]
chaosmagnet Offline
Sheriff
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: USA
While I'm not an expert in the small arms ammunition industry, I think there are four major factors to the shortages we're seeing in the USA.

First, there are a lot more first-time firearms owners in the USA than in any usually 6+ month term that I can think of.

Second (and closely related to the first), many firearms owners have more concern about public safety than they've had in the past.

Third, there are concerns about potential future legal restrictions.

Fourth, I'm told that there are shortages regarding specific components, especially primers, related to the pandemic. I don't have any data to support that, but it seems plausible.

As for me, I've been training more this year than in any other year, as I had planned long before any of the above factors came to light.

The two calibers I train with are in short supply everywhere, and when available they're priced much higher than a year ago. But they are possible to find, with some effort.

#297261 - 10/12/20 11:20 PM Re: Any shortages where you are? [Re: TeacherRO]
dougwalkabout Online   confused
Crazy Canuck
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Alberta, Canada
I hesitate to post at all, but I must respectfully say that I'm worried about you guys. A shortage of ammunition suggests a shortage of confidence in the future, and an abundance of fear.