Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#290845 - 10/13/18 01:01 PM Best use of time, money
hikermor Offline
Geezer in Chief
Geezer

Loc: southern Cal
In equipping to survive, what is the most effective use of your money and of your time?

In general, I feel the best use of money is to spend it on good training (and there are "training courses out there that are rip offs), especially on first aid. Many outdoor retailers offer courses and experiences in hiking, backpacking, etc. which look like good deals, although I have no experience. Anyone?

Buy basics first (training will help you there)...

Time? Get out and increase your knowledge and get familiar with your stuff.

#290847 - 10/13/18 02:01 PM Re: Best use of time, money [Re: hikermor]
pforeman Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Iowa
I am agreement with your views and think that the "best" investment in time and money is knowledge. Sure having some of the 'right' gear will help a lot but knowing how to use it and having an idea of how to cope without it beats out all the hardware.

With that - I've kept up my wilderness red cross instructor certifications and have also (due to work) kept up my American Heart instructor / trainer status. Keep learning is my idea.

Paul -

#290849 - 10/13/18 06:03 PM Re: Best use of time, money [Re: hikermor]
Dagny Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Washington, DC
Shelter - Water - Food - First-Aid/Meds

I organize my thoughts on this subject around those four things.

Best Use of Money

Water -- is the cheapest and it is essential to life. - just need some containers and a little bleach to have a supply for a few weeks. Having water at home and in the car covers that base for me 99% of the time as I'm usually in or near one or the other.

Matches -- which are cheap or even free -- will ignite a fire to purify water or provide life-saving warmth. Must-have at home, in car, backpack, wherever. I also am a fan of fire steels (not as cheap but should ignite fires for years).