Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#286795 - 10/18/17 12:34 AM ETS Dream
Jeanette_Isabelle Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Nacogdoches, Texas
To the best of my recollection, this is the first time I had a dream involving this forum. In the dream, a lot of forum members believed I was still in high school despite the fact I'm thirty-one. In it, setting the record straight proved to be a challenge because members wanted proof.

Jeanette Isabelle

#286797 - 10/18/17 01:53 AM Re: ETS Dream [Re: Jeanette_Isabelle]
haertig Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Colorado
Next year you can shave off a decade and honestly start telling people you're only 20. Well technically, 0x20 - but only us engineers, computer programmers and mathematicians will pick up on that little detail. And we won't tell!

#286806 - 10/18/17 04:15 PM Re: ETS Dream [Re: haertig]
M_a_x Offline
Veteran

Loc: Germany
frown. I am an engineer and computer programmer. Around here we do not condone tricks like that.
Honesty goes a long way. Just the other day honesty paid off. Steering board took it very calmly when being told that a required change would increase the time to release (and cause missing the deadline). The graph clearly showed the remaining time would double. Steering board members know what logarithmic scales are, don´t they? whistle
Besides as mechanical engineer I´m used to employ safety factors: estimate age and multiply by 2 or 3 to avoid being too low (I do cap at the average life expectancy though)

#286807 - 10/18/17 05:16 PM Re: ETS Dream [Re: haertig]
Carpal Tunnel

Originally Posted By: haertig
Next year you can shave off a decade and honestly start telling people you're only 20. Well technically, 0x20 - but only us engineers, computer programmers and mathematicians will pick up on that little detail. And we won't tell!

I'm an 80s child. I don't want to alter that.