Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#246506 - 06/01/12 04:46 PM Paracord Certification query
albanlusitanae Offline
Stranger

Loc: Sintra
Hi to all in the forum

Noob here, hope to learn a lot from all of you smile

I have a question regarding the famous Paracord Specs.
I have made the normal search anyone who really wants to get good equipment does, and reached the also famous certification spec MIL-C-5040H for Paracord.

After searching several suppliers, ordered a Paracord Type V (1000lbs) which according to their CS written reply, complies to the spec. Will see smile

However, after that, I discovered when I searched for other specs, that this one was set on 1994, and on 1997 a Notice was issued that the Military no longer complied or used the spec, or that it is no longer followed for chosing the materials.

Do you know of the veracity of this? Have you heard of any other spec being used for these nylon cords?

Very best regards
Luis Lima

#246508 - 06/01/12 05:38 PM Re: Paracord Certification query [Re: albanlusitanae]
Cauldronborn2 Offline

Loc: UK
Try taking a look on this thread

#246526 - 06/02/12 05:02 AM Re: Paracord Certification query [Re: albanlusitanae]
GradyT34 Offline

Originally Posted By: albanlusitanae
After searching several suppliers, ordered a Paracord Type V (1000lbs) which according to their CS written reply, complies to the spec. Will see smile

I have some white Type V (1000) para-cord that I may have purchased from the same supplier you ordered from. This Type V cord does indeed have 14 inner strands with 3 yarns each, and one of the 14 strands is the color combination that is presently assigned to the manufacturer by the Dept. of Defense.

The vast majority of all the products this particular merchant sells are used by the parachute industry and, more particularly as to cord, in parachutes. This I know.