Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#209350 - 10/08/10 10:12 PM Re: Recommended Home/Car suture wound closure kit [Re: dougwalkabout]
hikermor Offline
Geezer in Chief
Geezer

Loc: southern Cal
Originally Posted By: dougwalkabout

I'm not an expert, but I assume that the introduction of any non-sterile material into a deep wound is an extremely bad idea.

Depends on your objective. It is a great way to increase medical costs, and possibly, even, support the funeral industry.

I have dressed a fair number of wounds in back country settings, and I have never had to suture anything. Zero. Zilch. Nada.

#209352 - 10/08/10 10:26 PM Re: Recommended Home/Car suture wound closure kit [Re: Cockroach]
ironraven Offline
Cranky Geek
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Vermont
Stitching looks really good, but honestly, listen to Pete.

I've had stitches several times. The bleeding had pretty much stopped in most of those. The stitches are mostly to help you heal faster and with fewer long term complications (which includes reopening). I can not think of a situation were I would require stitches where most of us would be functional enough long enough for it to matter.

I'm not a fan of tourniquets, and I like t-quits more than I like stitches. The only things I can think of where I couldn't pack it with celox and gauze then secure with vet wrap and duct tape are massive abodominal injuries, internal injuries, or amputation. In the first, unless you can get evac'ed, you're dead. Internals... again, evac. Amputation, if you can't get it stopped with pressure, then you'll bleed out. All of this assumes shock doesn't get you.