Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#187684 - 11/06/09 02:41 PM Hunting trip a bust (sort of)
benjammin Offline
Rapscallion
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Anchorage AK
Well, this being the one week of the year we can hunt elk, last friday we beat feet to our favorite elk hunting campsite and proceeded to make fire. Funny how the crowd is slowly switching from the wall tent, cot and barrel stove to everyone has new shiny trailers with forced air heaters and queen beds.

Since I had not qualified yet as a state resident, I opted to forego any actual hunting and work on some of my more mundane camping skills. My menu for the 4 days I was to be at camp included such delights as huckleberry pancakes, mountain man breakfast, deer stroganoff(the deer being donated by another hunter in the group), deer stew, chicken asparagus rice casserole, biscuits and gravy, and heaps of eggs and coffee. Apparently my culinary skills haven't waned too hard, for I made enough to have only a serving or so left over after every meal, and most of the hunting group had thirds of everything.

I do have to admit, we let the fire in the barrel stove die out at 3:00 am on Saturday morning. With a clear sky that night, the temps got right down to about 20 degrees, and I had trouble finding the bottom of my sleeping bag so I could stay warm. I am definitely getting averse to using the woods for a privy in the wee hours of the morning under such conditions, so I held my business as long as I could, then booted up and made the quick dash out and back. Since I was not going to bother with hunting, I opted to sleep in as it were until daylight, which was a good two hours after the rest of the gang had to vacate camp to get to their designated ambush sites.