Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#172912 - 05/07/09 09:14 PM eBay or Amazon, which is "better"?
EdD270 Offline
Journeyman

Loc: White Mountains of Arizona
I just posted a reply to a thread about buying gear on Amazon. It brought to mind, again, a question I've wondered about for some time.
I'm fairly new at buying online, but I've gotten items from Amazon and eBay both with good experiences all around. I'm surprised at the variety of stuff that comes up by searching "survival" or related words on both eBay and Amazon.
What I am wondering about is which do you think is the better site to deal with, and why? What do you base your preference on?
Just wondering.

#172940 - 05/08/09 09:08 AM Re: eBay or Amazon, which is "better"? [Re: EdD270]
AROTC Offline
Addict

Loc: Manhattan
Amazon is normally my site of choice just because you generally know exactly who you're dealing with and what you can expect. That said, you can often get much better deals on ebay, and I've bought some of my (otherwise much more) expensive gear there.

#172945 - 05/08/09 12:23 PM Re: eBay or Amazon, which is "better"? [Re: EdD270]
MartinFocazio Offline

Pooh-Bah

Loc: Bucks County PA
For new goods Amazon, without question. For one of a kind or strange goods, ebay.

I've been buying and selling online since the mid 1980's and I've bought almost anything you can imagine online from ammo to zeolite and over the years, I've bought and sold on ebay as well.

Asking which one is better is like asking which half of your head is more useful.

#172950 - 05/08/09 01:45 PM Re: eBay or Amazon, which is "better"? [Re: MartinFocazio]
JohnE Offline
Addict

Loc: Southern Cal
+1 on what Martin wrote. I've bought a couple of things on ebay that turned out to be not such a great deal, I'm thinking of a couple of cell phone chargers in particular but they were so cheap that I really can't complain.