Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 2 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#116621 - 12/20/07 01:48 AM Re: Gear idolization...anyone else have this probl [Re: yeti]
Paul810 Offline
Veteran

Loc: NJ, USA
Originally Posted By: yeti

And on the watch side...after killing several costly watches, I've been wearing Casio G-shocks for almost 18 years. I like them and they can't be killed...have several stories. BUT...they now must be sent to the Casio repair shop in order to switch out batteries and "be pressurized". Poor engineering. Nobody wants to be w/o their watch for several weeks. When this battery dies in mine, I'll probably be looking at some other brand...hopefully similar, but with CONSUMER REPLACEABLE BATTERY. I used to recommend these to everyone. I can no longer do it in good conscience. They wear well...but the battery thing is ridiculous.

Any watch that is given a water resistance rating, like the G-shock has (200M), needs to be pressure tested after the battery cover is removed. Doesn't matter if it's a $30 Casio or a $3,000 Movado. Once that cover comes off the water resistance could be compromised. Doesn't mean it is, but it could be, which is why it needs to be tested (and why Casio wants you return the watch to them). It isn't poor engineering by any means, it's a fact of having a diving rated watch.

If you want a watch that keeps quartz accuracy, while potentially never requiring a replacement battery, you're only bet is an automatic quartz watch or a solar-powered watch. Such as a Seiko Auto-Quartz (Kinetic) or a Citizen Eco-drive. Both should last the lifetime of the wearer without requiring the case to be opened.

Here's a link to the Seiko:

Seiko Kinetic Dive

If that fails...a sun dial is probably your next option. grin

#116626 - 12/20/07 02:32 AM Re: Gear idolization...anyone else have this probl [Re: yeti]
Steve Offline
Journeyman

Loc: North Carolina