The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#101603 - 08/04/07 08:35 PM bow drill fire making
LumpyJaw Offline
Journeyman

Loc: Virginia, USA
I'm going to be going camping in Virginia next week and would like to try my hand at making a fire using a bow drill. What is the best wood for this in this area? Central Virginia to be exact.
Thanks.

#101613 - 08/04/07 10:24 PM Re: bow drill fire making [Re: LumpyJaw]
billym Offline
Addict

Loc: Oakland, California
I am just learning this method myself. One good website is
http://www.primitiveways.com/
A really infomative site.
You do not generally want wood that is too hard or too soft. Pitchy wood usually don't work.
They have a list of woods on the site but it is based here in N. California.
Have fun on your trip! Take some pictures and post them later.
Bill

#101708 - 08/05/07 09:07 PM Re: bow drill fire making [Re: LumpyJaw]
DougM Offline

In general DEAD, DRY cottonwood works quite well and (I think) grows all over the country (under the proper conditions).

#101870 - 08/07/07 03:19 PM Re: bow drill fire making [Re: DougM]
LumpyJaw Offline
Journeyman

Thanks for the input. I'll be sure to let you know how it goes.
Tom

#101874 - 08/07/07 03:53 PM Re: bow drill fire making [Re: billym]
raydarkhorse Offline
Addict

Loc: on the road 10-11 months out o...
One thing I haven't seen anyone mention here or anywhere else, when you start put a pinch of SAND in your notch it will increase the friction and produce heat and spark quicker than just the wood alone

#101879 - 08/07/07 04:33 PM Re: bow drill fire making [Re: raydarkhorse]
garland Offline

Loc: harrisburg, pa
Wow.. I never even heard that when I was in the boy scouts. That's awesome, cuz god knows how hard it is to get a bow-drill setup going if you've not been doing it for a while.
Facebook: http://on.fb.me/foPFgx

#102224 - 08/10/07 04:33 AM Re: bow drill fire making [Re: raydarkhorse]
Nicodemus Offline
Paranoid?
Veteran