Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#235015 - 11/03/11 01:09 AM Water storage (with limitations)
Aberlour Offline
Stranger

Loc: Colorado
Hey Everyone- first post here. Even though I just registered, I've been browsing the forums occasionally for a couple of years now.

So, I want to build up a drinking water supply, but I'm fairly space-limited. In addition to some larger containers, I'm going to fill quite a few 64-oz Gatorade bottles. They're made of PETE, which I've heard is a good material for storing water. Obviously, they've been washed out with soap and will be treated with bleach when filled.

Unfortunately, one of the best storage areas I have available is the heater & water heater closet. I know you're supposed to store water in a cool place, so this isn't ideal. It's about 5-8 degrees (max) warmer than the rest of the place. Will this significantly shorten the time that I should go before replacing the water, and if so, how often should I do that?

Thanks!

#235025 - 11/03/11 05:15 AM Re: Water storage (with limitations) [Re: Aberlour]
LED Offline
Veteran

Rotate once a year and you'll be fine, although it would probably be fine for years, especially in a dark closet. I rotate yearly except for my car kit, which is 6 months. Not because I'm worried about bacteria growth but for taste. Sitting in a hot car for months seems to impart more of a plasticy taste.

Oh, and welcome to ETS!

#235031 - 11/03/11 11:51 AM Re: Water storage (with limitations) [Re: Aberlour]
LesSnyder Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: New Port Richey, Fla
welcome... as LED commented, I change out once a year also...hurricane season is my primary concern, so change out the dedicated blue containers with spigots at the beginning of the season... I do add a couple of drops of clorox per gallon...

I keep 4 gallons frozen in the bottom of my small chest freezer...