The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#182173 - 09/14/09 05:23 PM GPS tips
Outdoor_Quest Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Central Oregon
I am looking for GPS tips/lessons learned for my GPS classes. I have been teaching GPS classes in the Pacific Northwest for 10 years. I'd appreciate some feedback on what you have learned about using a GPS. I am not looking for product endorsements or discussion of what unit is best; just sound feedback based on experience.

For example. I recommend having just the minimal number of waypoints needed to do the job. I suggest saving important waypoints (from previous trips)on the share ware program from www.easygps.com.

For background on my classes and some great links please visit www.outdoorquest.biz.

Thanks a bunch.

Blake

#182176 - 09/14/09 05:51 PM Re: GPS tips [Re: Outdoor_Quest]
Johno Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Scotland
GPS is an aid to navigation and not the be all and end all of it.

batteries run out, so always check them before using.

GPS navigates in straight lines, watch out for cliffs.

#182177 - 09/14/09 06:04 PM Re: GPS tips [Re: Outdoor_Quest]
Russ Offline
Geezer

Loc: SOCAL
Quote:
I recommend having just the minimal number of waypoints needed to do the job.
GPS isn't much good unless it references to something. I see waypoints as the reference. If I'm on a road trip, my GPS has every waypoint along the way.

A waypoint that may seem unnecessary in planning a trip may be needed as events unfold. You don't know what you don't know.

#182178 - 09/14/09 06:08 PM Re: GPS tips [Re: Russ]
unimogbert Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Colorado
If you enter nothing else, mark where you put the car.

#182184 - 09/14/09 06:48 PM Re: GPS tips [Re: unimogbert]
scafool Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Muskoka
What Unimog Bert said is vital.

I use GPS with a map for position fixes.
That means I am only running it for a few minutes at a time. Even at that I carry spare batteries.