The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#169707 - 03/19/09 04:50 AM Pyrography and Kimberley's pendants
Oni Offline
Stranger

Loc: North Carolina
My girlfriend Kimberley is a gifted artist with a number of media and has recently taken to pyrography which is the decoration of materials by burning on them. We are working on making a new website for this endeavor and I thought I would post here not only to advertise but to share these beautiful things with you all.

She is currently using Pine pieces from a crafts store but we are buying some much prettier hardwoods with nicer patterns to use. I sand the pieces with 400 grit sandpaper and she burns them with a soldering iron with a fine tip. Then she burns the holes (these will be going on necklaces of course and possibly on nice keychains when I can find some) and paints the wings on the critters.

Please bear in mind that I am not a professional photographer, my camera is not super great and the lighting was less than perfect. When it comes time to post them on the site we will be hiring one of those professionals to take quality photos. In the meantime she is stuck with my amateur image skills laugh . Despite that some of them are not as clear as the actual pieces are I think they came out pretty well. The ones pictured below were completed before I realized we should be sanding them to give the easiest working surface as well as the finest end product. Some of them have been stained and we are experimenting with different stains to see what looks the best.

Kimberley has completed 56 of them in about a week given that she is a full time veterinary technician (the only one at the hospital who has a degree as such aside from the doctors so she works a lot) and does between 3 and 8 a night not including the one day she has off per week.