Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#95635 - 05/26/07 12:14 AM Generation X earn less income than their dad?
picard120 Offline
Old Hand

Is generation X young people earning less than their parents?

http://money.cnn.com/2007/05/25/pf/mobility_study/index.htm?cnn=yes

What do you think? Inquiring mind wants to know.

#95640 - 05/26/07 01:12 AM Re: Generation X earn less income than their dad? [Re: picard120]
MDinana Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Beer&Cheese country
Crud, I know I'm earning a heck of a lot less! Though, being born in the late 70's, I don't know if I'm technically a Gen X'er. But, money is relative (inflation, and what-not), plus I'm a full time student. Even when I've FINALLY graduated (c'mon, 2009!), I won't be making, strictly speaking, what he's making for at least 4-5 years.

But after that, I'm gonna blow him out of the water!

#95642 - 05/26/07 02:55 AM Re: Generation X earn less income than their dad? [Re: MDinana]
ssbauer Offline

Loc: Ohio
That study is worthless. It takes no account of differences in education levels, career choice, etc.

My Dad was a career Air Force man and afterward went to school to learn Accounting. I went to school for an Engineering degree directly after High School. So my earnings are going to be higher.

So what about my son? If decides to skip College, ruling out a best selling book, making it big in acting or sports, or some amazing invention, there is no way he can earn more than I do. Although if he chooses to go to College, it will not guarantee a good salary. It depends on career path. He has hinted at a degree in Mathematics. If he teaches, forget about a good salary. If he gets an advanced degree and does research in cyrptology, bingo! He has vast earning potential.

#95648 - 05/26/07 03:37 AM Re: Generation X earn less income than their dad? [Re: ssbauer]
jdobbs2001 Offline
stranger