Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#170360 - 03/30/09 05:28 PM New Zealand: Input please
Packman Offline
Journeyman

Loc: Southwest Coast, Florida
Hello all,

Work will likely take me to New Zealand sometime in the next year to year and a half. I'd like anyone who's been there (and hopefully we have someone who's FROM there on here...) to please chime in with any impressions. My stay would be about a year long on the short end, with the potential to become a permanent relocation. Input from any pilots would be much appreciated as well!

A bit of my background:
-I'm a male in my 20's
-From South Florida
-I'm a pilot here, and will likely be working as a pilot in NZ

What I'm looking for:
-How are Americans recieved?
-Particular pitfalls/gotchas
-What to do/where to go
-Information on the Aviation industry
-Anything else useful

Thanks much! (Pics are appreciated too, if they're helpful)

Packman

#170367 - 03/30/09 06:34 PM Re: New Zealand: Input please [Re: ]
benjammin Offline
Rapscallion
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Anchorage AK
New Zealand is about the same socially as much of Australia. I worked with a number of "Kiwi's" while in Brisbane (Kiwi is what Australians call anyone from NZ. Although you might here that title a lot, don't use it unless you are on friendly terms with the person you are addressing. It's like calling an Aussie bloke and "Ocker", or an American a "Dumb Yank"), and they are all good mates. Americans are considered a bit of a novelty still down there, but it is getting better than it was. Learn to drink beer any time of day, be interested in Rugby and Cricket, and use a lot of American slang. If you can stand it, try and develop a taste for Marmite (as close as you can get to vegemite these days, thanks to our stupid import laws).