The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#221227 - 04/09/11 11:46 AM BPA in my stored food
Byrd_Huntr Offline
Old Hand

Loc: MN, Land O' Lakes & Rivers ...
I'm not a scientist, but the more I read, the more concerned I get about BPA, a chemical used in the plastic linings of 'tin' cans, and a host of other food and water containers. It seems that this chemical is now believed to cause significant and harmful hormonal changes in humans.

I think it is wise to have some long term storage of basic food, especially of beans and grains. I am now in the process of phasing out canned beans in favor of dry beans. The latest research seems to indicate that dry beans retain significant nutritional value for up to 30 years if stored properly.

Here is some info:

http://www.usdrybeans.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/BeanBriefs-Fall-2010.pdf

Also:

www.providentliving.org

#221233 - 04/09/11 01:59 PM Re: BPA in my stored food [Re: ]
hikermor Offline
Geezer in Chief
Geezer

Loc: southern Cal
Agree with Izzy. Another consideration is your stage of life. I consume a lot of things I wouldn't give my kids on a long term basis. I am not at all bothered by potential hormonal changes. Now let me see, where did I put my rouge and lipstick?

#221237 - 04/09/11 03:38 PM Re: BPA in my stored food [Re: Byrd_Huntr]
comms Offline
Veteran

Loc: Mesa, AZ
+1 Izzy

#221239 - 04/09/11 04:33 PM Re: BPA in my stored food [Re: Byrd_Huntr]
dougwalkabout Offline
Crazy Canuck
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Alberta, Canada