Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#214425 - 01/06/11 06:16 PM Watches & compass interference?
Denis Offline
Addict

Loc: Calgary, AB
I've been playing around with the idea of getting a new casual watch for when I'm outdoors and am wondering if there are certain considerations I should be taking into account if I expect to be wearing it while trying to navigate with a compass.

To what degree (if any) will a wrist watch interfere with a compass? Are some watches better than others with regards to playing nice with a compass (materials, movement, etc.)?

I'm not really experienced with navigating with a map & compass yet, but I got a new compass (Suunto MC-2DL) and a book (Wilderness Navigation) for Christmas and plan on taking some courses a bit later this year.

#214430 - 01/06/11 06:53 PM Re: Watches & compass interference? [Re: Denis]
JBMat Offline
Old Hand

Loc: NC
I doubt your watch will interfer with your compass.

I'm right handed, wear a watch on my left wrist, and use the compass in my right hand. I don't even worry about the minor deviations possible with metal framed glasses when sighting.

Remember to compare the map to the ground to what the compass is telling you and keep a decent pacecount. You should be good to go.

#214435 - 01/06/11 07:37 PM Re: Watches & compass interference? [Re: JBMat]
MostlyHarmless Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Norway
Interference of that kind is easy to detect. Move the clock really up close and around the compass until you see the needle move so it points straight at the clock (or away from it). Then increase the distance but not the angle between the clock and the compass. Watch the needle point north again.