Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#203103 - 06/08/10 02:14 PM Psk Containers
TeacherRO Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Does anyone carry their PSK in tupperware? A metal box? I'm looking for ways to carry.

#203106 - 06/08/10 03:29 PM Re: Psk Containers [Re: TeacherRO]
comms Offline
Veteran

Loc: Mesa, AZ
I have mine in a Outdoor Research (OR) zippered pouch. YMMV but I find hard kits in the size I use are bit unwieldy. I also use a backpack for EDC so of course I can get away with a bigger EDC.

#203107 - 06/08/10 04:30 PM Re: Psk Containers [Re: TeacherRO]
MostlyHarmless Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Norway
So far it's been just a plastic pouch of some kind. I'm fairly new to this PSK-in-my-pocket idea, mostly I've been carrying stuff in my daypack / backpack / whatever-pack of the day.

My present pocket PSK pouch is just a temporary hack, about half of a heavy-duty plastic pouch that was made to hold some food items.

For my bigger backpack PSK I've used a vinyl map case, some zip-lock pouches and other hacks of the day.

The trouble is that I have pretty high demands on the size (as flat as possible, just big enough to hold what I want), but I haven't the time nor money to chase around for the perfect high-tech pouch. So I make do with whatever I can scrounge together from the kitchen and the basement.

#203116 - 06/08/10 07:31 PM Re: Psk Containers [Re: TeacherRO]
Glock-A-Roo Offline
Old Hand

My core PSK items are in a BCB large kit tin that is 4.5" x 3" x 1". I really like it because:

- it gives me a little more room than an Altoids tin but is still compact enough to carry in a pocket if that's all the space I've got.

- it has an elastomeric seal in the lid that works pretty well. Still, I have 2 wide rubber bands cut from an old bicycle tube that I have put around the tin that really clamp it shut. The bands can be used as ongoing fire tinder if needed.