The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#168656 - 03/04/09 07:33 PM New and have questions
Dennis Offline
Stranger

Loc: sacramento
Greetings all. I am new to this forum and fairly new to the idea of survival prep. I do have some background in protection from people, just not in the larger area of equipped to survive so to speak. I am also a registered nurse with many years of ER experience. Which brings me to my questions.

How much is enough? I have my EDC backpack. I have a larger pack that will get me through 3 days or so. I am not sure though at what point it goes from prepared to overkill. I keep adding things to my bags and they are becoming too full. For example, water. I have seen it suggested that there should be 1 gallon of water per person per day. So for my wife and I 9 gallons should get us through the basic disaster. But Katrina showed us it took approx 5 days to get water to the superdome. So instead of 6 gallons do I store 10? Or 20 just in case? And if 20 why not 25? Same with food.

How about a first aid kit? I have advanced training and knowledge so do I add equipment up to my level of training? If so my kit will be fairly large, to large to carry with me so I have to pare it down some.

Ok I'm new and confused and am looking towards the wonderful community at large to help me with ideas. Thanks Doug for a wonderful resource. You have and will save lives with your work here.

Thanks

Dennis

#168658 - 03/04/09 07:38 PM Re: New and have questions [Re: Dennis]
Mike_H Offline
Addict

Loc: SE PA
Welcome to the party Dennis!

Tough question... I'm sure you will get a lot of different answers from different people... Only you will be able to determine what is enough.

Water treatment is probably a good idea as you can carry things to treat water a bit easier than carrying a large quantity of water.

What type of survival situations do you feel you and your family may be in?