Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#12089 - 01/16/03 04:48 AM Kerosene Heaters
forester Offline
Journeyman

Loc: Oregon
I've been looking into purchasing a kerosene heater for emergency use in case of power outages (rather common in my area). Unfortunately, I do not have a wood stove at my house and my experience with my fireplace as a heat source for the house has been poor (it's more for looks - more heat goes up the chimney than into the building). The brand of heater I have been looking at is called Dyna Glo. What experiences have other folks had using a kerosene heater as an emergency heat source? Any recommendations?

I've considered some of the safety aspects: I already keep a charged fire extinguisher close at hand and would like to get a CO detector if I end up with this type of heater (I'd appreciate any advice on this as well).

I have some experience with kerosene - a pair of Alladin lamps keep me with plenty of reading light when the power goes out. Any advice on storing kerosene would be helpful. I'm thinking no more than 5 or 10 gallons at a time.

The rest of my home emergency kit is coming together well. We've had some wicked wind storms and winter is just getting wound up. Bring it on!

Forester

#12090 - 01/16/03 05:11 AM Re: Kerosene Heaters
Comanche7 Offline
Addict

Loc: Florida
Forester,
Believe it or not, there are a few of the Dyna's & similar products in FL. LOL

Not real experienced with them, although I've used them several times. Keep them clean, get spare wicks, batteries and ignitors. The batteries in my experience will last several months. My understanding is that there is a liquid product that can be added to kerosene to reduce sooting. I think that there are also some kerosene alternatives that also burn cleaner, but probably come with a higher $ than kero.