Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#5870 - 04/29/02 06:22 AM Basic, basic 1st aid for minor booboos
Anonymous
Unregistered

Doug lists both Neosporin and Betadine in his basic 1st aid kit...I have picked up both, but not sure which should be used for what. I use the neosporin on booboos before bandaging them up. I also have alcohol wipes for cleaning wounds.<br><br>Also, where can I find Martin's burn cream, I can't find it any where.<br><br>A buddy at work told me not to use that hand sanitizer gel for cleaning wounds, is this true?<br><br>Looking to take a red cross class...I took a 1st aid/CPR class at work, but it ended up being a refresher, but not an intro. Go easy on me, I'm new to this stuff.

#5871 - 04/29/02 12:30 PM Re: Basic, basic 1st aid for minor booboos
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hi:<br><br>I can't comment on the Neosporin but back in my EMS days we were told by the ER doctors to use Betadine and never alcohol to treat wounds and prepare IV sites.<br><br>The reason given is that the alcohol would damage exposed nerves and underlying skin tissue while the Betadine would not. <br><br>Additionally, alcohol can be accidently passed into the blood stream if it is used to clean an IV site prior to the insertion of the catheter. This can cause subsequent blood tests to indicate that the patient has consumed alcohol. <br><br>I realize the second point is beyond the realm of first aid but it is food for thought. Anyway, the point I am trying to make is that we should avoid applying alcohol to wounds if another treatment is available.<br><br><br>Chris<br>

#5872 - 04/29/02 12:55 PM Re: Basic, basic 1st aid for minor booboos
AyersTG Offline
Veteran

Loc: Upper Mississippi River Valley...