The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#230411 - 08/24/11 08:00 AM Best GPS?
MDinana Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Beer&Cheese country
This can potentially set off a firestorm, I know.

Rather than interrupt a different thread, though I'd start my own. Now, I've been using the GPS for cars for a few years, intermittently. Never camping/hiking/outdoorsy. I have a decent sense of direction, know how to use a map and compass, and heck, most of my hikes in the last 10 years don't even need a map. My wife uses the Garmin Forerunner, but only as a distance-measuring device.

That being said, I'd like to change it! So, for < $200, what do you think is the best GPS for me?
-- Would like decent battery life (approx 10 hrs)
-- waypoints would be nice
-- small/light
-- relatively quick to lock on and use.
-- rugged (if I like it, I may take it if needed in a military setting)

I do NOT need a compass feature or an entire map. Don't really care about weather, barometer, altitude, etc. Would like something that can display lat/long, in addition to whatever other GPS-centric navigational coordinates. I was just playing on amazon for a few minutes, and seems the Garmin Foretrex 301 had the basics. Things like the Garmin eTrex seemed too "techie" for what I want.

Ideas?

#230415 - 08/24/11 09:57 AM Re: Best GPS? [Re: MDinana]
celler Offline
Addict

Loc: Jupiter, FL
I've owned the eTrex and did not find it complicated at all. I did not coin this phrase, and I do not know who to attribute it to, but I certainly subscribe to it: Get as much Garmin as you can afford.

#230418 - 08/24/11 11:28 AM Re: Best GPS? [Re: MDinana]
KenK Offline
"Be Prepared"
Pooh-Bah

Loc: NE Wisconsin
After quite a few years of using "outdoor" GPS's of various capabilities, I've boiled down my own needs to (beyond the basics most have):