Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#210152 - 10/23/10 06:38 AM Personal Medical Kit
WILD_WEASEL Offline

Loc: Afghanistan
I was home on leave for three weeks from Afghanistan where I'm a civilian contractor. I assembled a personal medical kit based on the guidelines of the Wilderness EMS Institute http://www.wemsi.org/ . This kit will supplement an Army IFAK that I bought on eBay to carry here. Since I’m working on getting recertified as an EMT-B I also took the opportunity, while on leave, to complete CPR/AED for the Professional from the American Red Cross.

Kit Closed

Kit Open

X30 naproxen (pain)
X12 Imodium (diarrea)
X7 meclizine (motion sickness)
X6 azithromycin (broad-spectum antibiotic 1 course)
X1 digital thermometer
X1 spare battery
X15 thermometer covers
X2 oral rehydration salts (to make 2 liters)
X1 gloves
X1 CPR shield
X1 1” tape
X4 cotton applicators
X1 3” gauze roll
X1 3” elastic bandage
X6 3x4” gauze pads
X1 OB tampon
X2 large safety pins
X6 antiseptic towelettes (benzalkonium)
X10 12-hour pseudoephedrine (decongestant)
X1 splinter forceps
X1 bandage scissors
X4 3x4” moleskin
X10 1” adhesive bandages (cloth)
X1 Lamisil cream (antifungal)

Kit Un-Packed

Edited by WILD_WEASEL (10/23/10 11:29 AM)

#210155 - 10/23/10 11:46 AM Re: Personal Medical Kit [Re: WILD_WEASEL]
Matt26 Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Vermont
I would add more gloves. In the 20 years i've been in fire and ems I can't remember one scene where I didn't rip, tear or remove a glove to prevent contaminating some other piece of equipment.

#210164 - 10/23/10 01:28 PM Re: Personal Medical Kit [Re: WILD_WEASEL]
TeacherRO Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Looks almost exactly like my kit.

Additions I would suggest:

- 1 tube sfpf 30 or 50 chapstick
-additional gloves
- Small folding knife (or scissors)
-tiny pen or just the pen refill
-cash/ contact info

Most of what I use? Band-aids, and meds.