Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#208097 - 09/16/10 09:31 AM Don't trust aluminum foil (with link)
Phaedrus Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Big Sky Country
Hey, guys and gals- here is an interesting article about tin foil, and how it isn't trustworthy to hold water. I bring this up for two reasons. First, many mini kits (including the excellent AMK PSP) include it as an emergency water boiling vessel. The second is because I'm a chef, and for nearly a decade I've been [censored] about this! Foil nowadays is junk. I'm not sure if it's just because it's thinner to save money or if the quality of the metal is worse, but no brand no matter how expensive can do what nearly all decent foil could do ten years ago. When covering a baking dish I've found that all foils will "burn thru" and pit out when baked for more than an hour or two.

Has anyone else noticed that foil quality has gone downhill precipitously?

#208133 - 09/16/10 02:19 PM Re: Don't trust aluminum foil (with link) [Re: Phaedrus]
KenK Offline
"Be Prepared"
Pooh-Bah

Loc: NE Wisconsin
Scouts have used aluminum foil for "hobo" meals for decades. They chop up veggies, add a slab of hamburger, cover it all in foil, and cook it over hot coals. I have say that I have noticed them having more problems lately with holes in the foil. I wasn't sure if was cheap generic foil or what. Even heavy duty foil has the same problems.

Ken

#208135 - 09/16/10 02:42 PM Re: Don't trust aluminum foil (with link) [Re: Phaedrus]
Am_Fear_Liath_Mor Offline
Carpal Tunnel

I personally wouldn't use aluminium foil for anything related to cooking or boiling, even in the kitchen. Even aluminium pots and pans should be hard anodised and titanium is much preferred for outdoor use.

#208146 - 09/16/10 05:24 PM Re: Don't trust aluminum foil (with link) [Re: Phaedrus]
pezhead Offline
Journeyman

Loc: Minnesota