Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#44183 - 07/17/05 11:54 PM Climbing gear
reconcowboy Offline

Loc: Ohio
Does anyone carry any kind of climbing/rappeling gear and if so what? What would y'all recommend. I rappelled in the Marine Corps from 87-94 so I have some experience with the gear.

#44184 - 07/18/05 02:02 AM Re: Climbing gear
GeorgeM Offline

I'm a caver and have a lot of vertical caving gear, but it is not a major part of my survival gear. However, it does have its place. Bob and Bob is the major caving supply source in the USA. Go for PMI or Bluewater ropes. A rappel rack is the safest device that has ever been invented. It can be used for drops over 1,000 feet such as the deep pits in Mexico, or a skyscraper such as the Empire State Building. If I worked in a high rise building, I would have my gear in my office.

#44185 - 07/18/05 03:46 PM Re: Climbing gear
paramedicpete Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Frederick, Maryland
I would suggest heading on down to your closest REI/Hudson Trail/EMS or local caving/hiking/climbing store. Talk with the sales people; many of them are active participants of the sports, for which they sell products. Most of these stores have pamphlets, brochures for both equipment selection and contact information for local climbing instruction/clubs. Touch base with the area climbing/outdoor schools/classes, which will often allow you to “try-out” a variety of equipment as well as allow you to refresh/learn your climbing/rappelling skills. Equipment selection is like most things, a matter of personal choice and familiarity.

Pete

#44186 - 07/18/05 06:24 PM Re: Climbing gear
SheepDog Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Wild Wonderful WV