Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#2591 - 11/13/01 03:20 AM HOW-TO on Survival (looking for)
dt101010 Offline

Loc: Monroe, LA
With all this information on what would make a good survival kit, how to prioritize in a crisis, and what tools you should have with you, I have had a hard time finding info online on what one would do with these tools. (with all the gritty details)<br><br>I guess what I am looking for is the information that is taken for granted or in some of the tomes that Doug has reviewed and listed on the site (such as the SAS Handbook). If this is the case then which books have you learned the most from?<br>Also some specifics on what are on these instruction cards in the survival kits would be helpful.<br><br>I am a novice in this arena and am looking for the best way to learn what I need to know.<br><br>Thanks.

#2592 - 11/13/01 04:32 AM Re: HOW-TO on Survival (looking for)
Anonymous
Unregistered

Take all the gear you got in your kits, take em up to the mountains or wherever and PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE sometimes when u read a book, its doesnt really help cause ist either hard to picture or understand. when u get familiar tryto \/<br>Get out in the mountains on a rainy cold day, with your kit, and try to do the basics with just that kit (But dont get your self killed) I.E. start fire, build shelter, purify water.<br>use your kit and build skills those people who wrote the book had to of do it themselves right? experience man!

#2593 - 11/13/01 05:16 AM Re: HOW-TO on Survival (looking for)
Chris Kavanaugh Offline
Carpal Tunnel