Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#76454 - 11/09/06 10:02 PM Question about Liquid Fuels
learn Offline

Hi all,

I just bought a liquid fuel stove and I'm wondering what size fuel bottle I should get. What is the average mount of fuel used per day if one were to boil water for both breakfast and dinner? Some website I saw recommended 8 oz per person per day. This makes 32 oz (roughly 1L) for 2 people for 2 days. Considering the standard Nalgene bottles are 1L, this seems like a lot of fuel to bring...

Also, is there any difference in performance between Coleman fuel, Crown fuel, MSR fuel and any other type of "white gas"?

I'm very new to liquid fuel stoves, any insight will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

#76455 - 11/10/06 02:46 AM Re: Question about Liquid Fuels
OldBaldGuy Offline
Geezer

Loc: Former AFB in CA, recouping fr...
It would depend a lot on what stove you have. Many burn hotter than others, therefore requiring less fuel. The outside air temp, water temp, etc, can also effect stove performance. Does your stoves manual give you any hints as to fuel consumption???

#76456 - 11/10/06 05:25 AM Re: Question about Liquid Fuels
Chris Kavanaugh Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Liquid fuel stoves vary in performance. The classic folding SVEA is not the same creature as Coleman's Peak 1 series. Cooking time can also be affected by altitude and efficiency of wind guards. Proprietory fuels are a way of making profit. If you periodically service your stove the difference in performance and clean burning is nil. If you've purchased a stove the best way to determine fuel needs is simple- Cook with it !

Edited by Chris Kavanaugh (11/10/06 05:29 AM)

#76457 - 11/10/06 09:16 AM Re: Question about Liquid Fuels
LED Offline
Veteran