Jumping in here:

Sure, and everything I can type is readily available information and none of it is new - although it seems to be in danger of becoming forgotten information as more and more folks turn to light amplification devices - I have plenty of experience with those and they have their place. But I digress...

Caveat: Like making fire with friction, reading about "seeing in the dark" is absolutely not as good as being out in the dark with someone who can teach you.

OK - photopic, mesopic, and scotopic vision - fascinating stuff - let's call 'em "P", "M", and "S" for short.

P is daytime/ fairly high illumination and the cones do most, but not all, of the work. This is acute vision right in front of your focus. Cone = color vision and in this mode the rods main contribution is peripheral vision. You see color in front and B-W on the edges (your brain will be tricking you if you try to check this out, but you *can* prove it to yourself - no color available off on the edges - rods only come in one flavor)

S only uses the rods and they are completely absent in the center of your field of vision - that's retinal turf reserved exclusively for cones. So you have a total blind spot directly in the center of your field of vision that you use the most. Coping with that one issue effectively makes a HUGE difference for most people who feel that they simply cannot see at night. We'll come back to S in a moment.