The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#27466 - 05/11/04 01:55 PM New Short Wave Radio from CountyComm
paramedicpete Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Frederick, Maryland
What do the radio people think of this new offering by CountyComm? Is the price good? Pete

http://www.countycomm.com/digitalsw.htm

#27467 - 05/11/04 03:12 PM Re: New Short Wave Radio from CountyComm
X-ray Dave Offline
Addict

Loc: Nevada
Saw it yesterday and ordered one, thought the FM & MW (AM) would make a decent travel radio. Not to concerned about the SW. Should be delivered later this week.

#27468 - 05/11/04 03:34 PM Re: New Short Wave Radio from CountyComm
OldBaldGuy Offline
Geezer

Loc: Former AFB in CA, recouping fr...
I can't tell from the pic and info given, is it digital tuning (like the clock), analog, what? Like the size and price, not sure if the SW would be all that helpful, I have no experience in that area...

#27469 - 05/12/04 07:14 AM Re: New Short Wave Radio from CountyComm
benjammin Offline
Rapscallion
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Anchorage AK
Well, the MW and SW bands are very basic and not robust. The sensitivity in all cases is what I'd consider poor. You will get better reception with this rig only if you use a directional. external antenna, provided it has a receptacle for such. I would only pay $20.00 for it because I can modify it to make it do what I would want it to for cheap (pre-amp the front end, open the tuning up a bit, add an antenna jack if need be).

#27470 - 05/13/04 10:24 PM Re: New Short Wave Radio from CountyComm
X-ray Dave Offline
Addict