Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#25796 - 03/14/04 06:15 PM Whose multitool?
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hey guys (and girls),

I'm new to this board and pretty much to the entire concept of survival in the wildnerness as well. I'm still a student, but I'm pretty heavily involved with do-it-myself stuff and would therefore like to buy a multitool. I know there are some threads around here about who owns what, but I've got some more direct questions I'd like to ask before buying. (Moderators -- if this belongs somewhere else, move it or delete it... I'll try to find the other area to post this in.) I'm pretty much ignoring weight and bulk issues... (which will be apparent by the questions I ask hehe)

Here goes.

1) Supertool 200 or SwissTool? Why?
2) LM ST200 -- does its blades hurt?
3) Warranty coverage -- LM or Victorinox?
4) Differences (other than "more features") of SwissTool RS and X?
5) LMST200 -- does it wobble?
6) Gerber 800 and how it stacks up to the LMST200 and ST... any strength preferences?

Thanks...

Xing

Edited by gmnstrunr37 (03/14/04 06:16 PM)

#25797 - 03/14/04 09:03 PM Re: Whose multitool?
Anonymous
Unregistered

I've got an original Leatherman and a Leatherman... Crunch, I think it's called...Please correct me if I'm wrong, the model with vice grips instead of pliers. I like both, although the original does tend to bite your hand once in a while. I understand the newer models have elliminated the "bite" problem, it's just never been a big enough issue for me to worry about. Consider your own needs and wants, shop around a little, and take the plunge... just make sure that you get a quality product and not a cheap knock-off. Several friends who have seen mine have bought 10 or 12 dollar copies and been surprised when they didn't hold up to serious work... you get what you pay for.
Just my two cents.

Troy