The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#195347 - 02/08/10 03:33 PM private sales on ETS
oldsoldier Offline
Old Hand

Loc: MA
I have been on this forum for quite some time, but I never really noticed that we do not have a Wanted to buy/sell/trade section. For private sales, between members. Am I missing something, or is there a reason for this? I have equipment that I would like to get rid of, and I think that some folks on here may be interested in it-but, the only place I see to put stuff is in the paid ads section. Mods? Anyone? I feel sort of dumb asking the question, and am just wondering if this is something that we just dont do?

#195358 - 02/08/10 04:42 PM Re: private sales on ETS [Re: oldsoldier]
clarktx Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Houston, Texas
I like swap blankets that other places do when you are there in person, you can inspect the goods immediately. I'm not a proponent of selling used items on this forum. I'm not really keen on trading items either. I think its a good way to start bad blood.

Some of the people here know an enormous amount about steel, for example. If they are sold/traded something that is made of crappy carbon steel, simply because the giver honestly didn't know better... well... if you start waving that caveat emptor flag some people would just feel burned and leave.

I don't want to see that happen.

#195363 - 02/08/10 05:34 PM Re: private sales on ETS [Re: clarktx]
Nicodemus Offline
Paranoid?
Veteran

Loc: Virginia, US
There is some trading from time to time in the campfire section. There was some ruling on private sales here on ETS, which I can't remember at the moment.

#195368 - 02/08/10 06:15 PM Re: private sales on ETS [Re: oldsoldier]
MartinFocazio Offline

Pooh-Bah

Loc: Bucks County PA