Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#156012 - 11/22/08 05:26 PM New Toy Time!
MDinana Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Beer&Cheese country
So, in a burst of fun/good news, I just found that I'll be spending the month of April in Alaska! Yup, working in a medical clinic, flying to one of the 56 villages served by the clinic. While in town, I do have a place to stay, but I've been told to bring a sleeping bag for flights out of town. There's also the potential for medivac flights.

So, I'm using this as an excuse to make a shopping list on stuff to bring... or maybe buy smile

I'll probably bring 2 knives - I'm thinking a 5" kabar and my Benchmade Mini Grip. I wonder, though, if a full size DR Grip would be a worthwile purchase instead of the Mini Grip?

I have a 20 degree down sleeping bag. Anyone know of a good, preferably fairly inexpensive, bivy that can be used? I have a surplus military one, but it's no longer waterproof... rendering it of little use.

Flashlights. I'm thinking of bringing some AA based lights. Probably will bring a couple, so I'm covered there. I'll bring lithium batteries most likely.

The temp is supposed to be in the 20s during that time. Given that my snow boots are only about 6" high, would gaiters be a good idea? Any recommended brands?

Anything else I'm missing? I'll probably have a small PSK on me, in addition to my EDC pocket knife (the Grip, or DR Grip) and flashlight, at all times. Not sure if I'm allowed "stuff" on the flights, but probably will build something fanny-pack sized to keep nearby if I am. Of course it'll be for review in a few months.

Thanks!

#156016 - 11/22/08 05:35 PM Re: New Toy Time! [Re: MDinana]
TheSock Offline
Addict

Loc: London England
If by 'buy' you mean in alaska. Don't. Prices are higher there.
The Sock

#156018 - 11/22/08 05:43 PM Re: New Toy Time! [Re: MDinana]
Desperado Offline
Veteran

Loc: DFW, Texas