The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#141996 - 07/29/08 03:50 AM Back up 12v battery system
JohnE Offline
Addict

Loc: Southern Cal
I seem to be on a roll so let me throw this out there.

As I've written in other posts, I work as a medic on film/tv sets mostly in and around SoCal. Some of these locations are rather remote with very little in the way of amenities other than what we bring to them. I tend to work very long hours, sometimes for up to a week at a time with little movement of my vehicle and sometimes with very limited access to refuel on any sort of a regular basis.

I've been toying with the idea of putting together an extra 12v battery system to power some 12v accessories, ie, cell phone, laptop, portable dvd player, AA/AAA battery charger, etc. What I'm envisioning is a small solar panel, portable to take into account the movement of the sun, possibly a charge controller and a smallish sized deep cycle AGM battery, eg, Optima or the new ones that are rebadged Optima's on sale at Sears. This could also be used conceivably to jump start a car.

I've thought about doing a dual battery setup with an isolater on the car system but I don't have a lot of room under the hood and I'm liking the idea of making the whole thing portable.

Anyone have an opinion on why this wouldn't work? Given that I'll have to know the limits of power available and the ability of the solar cell to recharge.

I welcome any suggestions or criticisms. Well maybe not the criticisms too much...;^)

John E

"and all the lousy little poets
comin round
tryin' to sound like Charlie Manson"

The Future/Leonard Cohen

#141999 - 07/29/08 04:01 AM Re: Back up 12v battery system [Re: JohnE]
Todd W Offline
Product Tester
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Mountains of CA
Portable will be pretty bulky / heavy... even one battery.
If it were me I'd do two batteries and store one in the trunk if there is not room under the hood.