Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#110151 - 10/26/07 02:51 PM Anyone have experience with this knife?
martino910 Offline

hello all...need some advice

I purchased this Tramontina today for about $12.

Anyone have any experience with this knife? Thought I'd just toss in in my BOB and sort of forget about it.

Looks kinda sturdy, comes with sheath, has full tang...lanyard attachment at finger guard...slight pommel at base...

chrome molybdenum blade (whatever that is...)

says AMAZONAS TWO on plasticky/rubbery handle

thanks

Attachments
DSC00021[1].jpg

#110157 - 10/26/07 03:28 PM Re: Anyone have experience with this knife? [Re: martino910]
Stretch Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Alamogordo, NM
I have no experience with that and never heard of it, but you now own it so you might as well put it in the BOB. I have a Frost "Grizzly Skinner" that stays in my BOB. It was a gift from bro-in-law and isn;t anything special, but it'll be more than adequate in a pinch.

Most stainless blades have an amount of chromium in them and many (no, most) also contain molyB. My guess is that the steel is nothing spectacular so the mfr embosses some "cool sounding" alloys like those to impress. For $12, who's to say it won;t work just fine as long as it's sharp?

I don;t know how much my bro paid for this knife (probably about $12 to $15, I'm guessing), but it'd be worth about $40 to me IF I were in the market for its size, design, and edge grind. It's great for the BOB though.....

ON EDIT: Oh, by the way, the blade embossing says "Stainless Japan". Another example of "now this steel ain't no big deal (in fact, we're kindly embarrassed to say what it is), but don;t some stainless from Japan sound intriguing and moderately 'far out'?"

Edited by Stretch (10/26/07 03:45 PM)

#110168 - 10/26/07 06:29 PM Re: Anyone have experience with this knife? [Re: Stretch]
jjmagnum Offline