Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#127528 - 03/17/08 02:12 AM College EDC
EHCRain10 Offline

Loc: VA
Im a new member here and i have a question or two for the more experienced members here.

I am a student at a small residential college that has an active railroad through the middle of campus, my dorm building and truck are on the opposite side of the tracks from my classes. There are very few liquid containers on the trains that go by and no passenger cars, it is only freight. If the train stops on the tracks the only way to cross is a small overpass at the far corner of campus. I ride a mountain bike most everywhere on campus so the mile long detour isnt too much of a hassle for me but it worries me when i think of the train derailing.
What would you suggest as an EDC kit?
Im never more than a mile or so from my vehicle or dorm room so i would only focus on getting to one of those two places.
Also if a train were to derail at say 60mph how far off the tracks could the cars end up? My dorm building is maybe 200 feet away from the tracks.
Thanks for the advice

#127531 - 03/17/08 02:57 AM Re: College EDC [Re: EHCRain10]
Raspy Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Centre Hall Pa
Depending upon the terrain, how a particular car leaves the tracks and several other factors you could have one parked in the first floor. Probably not real likely but it is possible.

The big problem is a chem spill. Even worse is gaseous. Regardless your dorm and truck could easily be in the contamination zone. You need to base your plans upon the fact you might not be able to get there. Even an accident without any contamination might be cordoned off by the atthorities for an indefinate amout of time. You might have to detour much farther than you think.

Plan for an alternate location on your side of the tracks. Or possibly a cashe of supplies.