Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#90513 - 04/06/07 02:09 AM Old but deadly rifle
Anonymous
Unregistered

In the United Kingdom we have much more restrictive gun laws than in the United States of America. Essentially guns are not a part of UK society whether they are hand guns or rifles although there is limited criminal use of hand guns in English cities such as London and Manchester. I believe that even semi-automatic assault rifles are available for ownership in the United States (without the bayonet confused ). I have had some experience in shooting a rifle called a Lee Enfield .303 MK4 rifle many many years ago and have been amazed that such a deadly weapon is available for ownership in the US. I was even more amazed to find that such weapons can be purchased for around $200 - $400. Is this weapon simply regarded as an antique or is a special license required to own such a deadly weapon? Also any comments on a comparison with more modern rifles would be welcome.

#90514 - 04/06/07 02:22 AM Re: Old but deadly rifle [Re: ]
thseng Offline
Old Hand

Loc: NW NJ
Well Hay-ell! They even let us have pointy knives over here!

"There are no dangerous weapons; there are only dangerous men."

"Never trust and engineer who doesn't carry a pocketknife."

#90515 - 04/06/07 02:27 AM Re: Old but deadly rifle [Re: ]
Blast Offline
INTERCEPTOR
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: TX
US gun laws are MOSTLY state and city-based, not federally controlled. The laws covering the rifle you are talking about vary from "No-way-at-all" to "walk-in-pay-money-walk-out-no-background-checks".

Guess which areas have higher crime rates!