The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 7 of 13 < 1 2 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 12 13 >
Topic Options
#87709 - 03/08/07 12:47 AM Re: Survival Myths [Re: Russ]
Lasd02 Offline

Loc: Pasadena, Calif.

RAS,

One of the articles I linked to above seemed to show that test subjects immersed suddenly in cold water who did not have their heads covered, did in fact show a higher percentage of core temperature drop than those whose heads were covered.

The total heat loss over the bodies surface area didn't change, but the bodies reaction to the sudden cold probably caused the vasoconstriction that changed the core heat loss percentage (I could be misunderstanding the article, I'm not a scientist).

I'm not sure how this could be utilized in a survival situation unless you're willing to lug a Mustang suit around with you!

#87710 - 03/08/07 12:52 AM Re: Survival Myths [Re: Lasd02]
leeana Offline

Loc: so cal

page 2019 (8 of 18) of

http://www.ms-se.com/pt/pt-core/template-journal/msse/media/1106.pdf

quotes an interesting statement from a study in 1957.

"This means that at –4°C the heat loss from the head may amount to half the total resting heat production of the man."

http://jap.physiology.org/cgi/content/abstract/10/2/235

50% of RESTING heat production.

i think i'll keep my beanie on, thank you very much.

#87713 - 03/08/07 01:44 AM Re: Survival Myths [Re: leeana]
Lasd02 Offline

Please, by all means keep your beanies on and I will do the same, but let's not do so out of ignorance. I believe the 1957 study you link to is the same one referred to here:

"Dr. Daniel I. Sessler, an anesthesiologist and expert on hypothermia at the University of Louisville medical school, said the popular myth stems from military experiments conducted five decades ago."