Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#78765 - 12/04/06 05:32 AM Las Vegas Survival Groups
Anonymous
Unregistered

I started thinking a few years ago about the need to make preparations for survival . After Katrina, I started acquiring supplies should the need arise to "Shelter in Place". But, I also realize that there may be a need to bug out, and/or live for an indefinite period of time, or even permanently, without the advantages of government (never thought I would say those words!) or an organized economy. Aside from the few survival experts, no one will be able to survive entirely on their own. I read an interesting article, recommending small survival groups, where people provided skills for the group. I thought that this would be an excellent idea. So, I am looking for survival groups in the Las Vegas area. My wife and I both have skills to offer such a group. I am a Physician Assistant, with 18 years experience in Family Practice and Urgent Care. Plus, prior to this, I was a Paramedic for 22 years (I'm 54- joined a volunteer rescue squad in the Richmond VA area when I was 16, and remained active until I moved to Las Vegas in 1991). My wife is retired, but was an electrical engineer. With the proper equipment, she can repair things such as communications equipment, etc. She used to be a high level design engineer for Cisco Systems, where she holds 4 patents. Her background was analog power systems, meaning she designed the power supplies for routers, mainframes, etc. Those are skills which would come in handy should a small community try to set up a power generating system. I also own several handguns, along with a shotgun and AR15 rifle, things that I have on hand to protect the family, but also would lend themselves to the same purpose for a group. I also have a small supply of ammo for the guns. I do practice shooting as often as possible, as a hobby. So, should any group in the