Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#78431 - 11/30/06 06:19 PM Knives of Alaska Bush Camp Fixed Blade
Simon Offline

Loc: Tennessee
What's everyone's 2 cents on this knife? Just curious.

http://www.knifeoutlet.com/shop/10Expand.asp?ProductCode=AL014

#78432 - 11/30/06 06:28 PM Re: Knives of Alaska Bush Camp Fixed Blade
Alan_Romania Offline

Addict

Loc: Arizona
Knives of Alaska make exceptional Knives! I have no experience with that one in particular, but their knives I have used are well built, beautiful tools. Looks like a decent deal also.

#78433 - 12/01/06 02:24 AM Re: Knives of Alaska Bush Camp Fixed Blade
OldBaldGuy Offline
Geezer

Loc: Former AFB in CA, recouping fr...
I have never owned any of their products, but I handled a bunch of them this summer (in Alaska of course). They all seemed to be very well made and finished. This looks like it might be a pretty good price...

#78434 - 12/01/06 02:32 PM Re: Knives of Alaska Bush Camp Fixed Blade
dchinell Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: FL
Simon:

I'm going to give a critique based on that web page alone. Don't be discouraged -- all the stuff I'm saying just reflects my personal preferences, and yours may well be different. And again, I've never seen this knife in person.

AUS-8A is a good steel by me. It holds its edge better than 440C, but is only a little harder to sharpen.

I don't like knives without a sharpening notch. As you can see, the edge runs right into the ricasso without relief. That means that if you sharpen on a square stone, and try to sharpen right to the ricasso, one edge of the stone will ride up on the radius between the bevel and the ricasso and thus put undue wear on the small area of the blade where the other edge of the stone runs.