Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#7802 - 07/28/02 09:17 PM Cotton vs. silk?
Ade Offline
Enthusiast

Hello all,<br><br>I recently found a web site selling 35" x 35" silk bandanas (they also have them in cotton). I like the idea of a larger bandana, but am unfamiliar with any advantages silk may have over cotton in this use (or any other for that matter). Aside from being less likely to blow my nose with it, I can't think of any dis/advantages. Obviously, I have zero experience with silk. Can anyone educate me?<br><br>Thanks and take care,<br><br>Andy

#7803 - 07/28/02 09:40 PM Re: Cotton vs. silk?
Anonymous
Unregistered

I have a couple of black silk bandanas that size.<br><br>My grandfather was a cowboy (by the definition that he had driven cattle from horseback for a living), and he told me that silk bandanas were more common than cotton in the old days. It makes a better filter mask (much finer) for breathing in a dusty environment, and silk seems to collect a lot less dust in the fibers over time. They also absorb less water and are less prone to chill you in the rain. I find them a lot more comfortable to wear against the skin for long periods.<br><br>That having been said, 35" sqaure is a LOT of fabric. That can be an advantage- you can twist it into a rope and drape it away from your neck if you get too hot, or let it fold loose and close for insulation if you're cold, but it takes some getting used to to manage one that size. You won't need a slide- there will be plenty to tie, for sure.

#7804 - 07/28/02 09:43 PM Re: Cotton vs. silk?
johnbaker Offline
old hand

Loc: USA
Ade,<br><br>I'm sorry I don't have any info for you, but I'd greatly appreciate it if you could provide the url for the website you found.<br><br>Thanks a lot,<br><br>John

#7805 - 07/29/02 12:32 AM Re: Cotton vs. silk?
Chris Kavanaugh Offline
Carpal Tunnel