Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >
Topic Options
#77083 - 11/16/06 10:14 PM TV show Man vs Wild
joaquin39 Offline

Loc: Philadelphia,Pennsyvania, USA.
I asked before the question but nobody answered. Does anybody knows what kind of knife Bear Grylls uses?. I am not a knife expert but I am sure that somebody in this forum can recognize the knife.
I will also would like any comentaries about the show.
Did anybody learned anything from it?
Thanks.

#77084 - 11/17/06 12:10 AM Re: TV show Man vs Wild
OldBaldGuy Offline
Geezer

Loc: Former AFB in CA, recouping fr...
Being out in the boonies, TV wise, right now, we can't see the neato stuff like that, so I can not reply re the knife, never seen it. I did see him on Jay Leno last night, and they showed a couple of clips from his show, both supposedly in the "desert." In thefirst clip he urinated on a cloth to wrap around hit head for cooling. Seems to me if he was that hard up he would probably have very little urine to produce. In the second clip he squeezed moisture out of elephant dung into his mouth (yuk). Jay commented that maybe he should just follow the elephants to their watering hole, that seemed to make a certain amount of sense to me...

#77085 - 11/18/06 01:40 PM Re: TV show Man vs Wild
widget Offline
Addict

I could not stand to watch the entire show, I did not want to see any more of Bear's misinformation. The one I watched was the jungle show. He seems to take totally unecessary risks, storms through the bush like a wildman and has no clue how to maintain a knife edge.
As for the knife, it was a knife. Some sort of AF survival knife clone. I did not like the design, that based on using various knives over the decades.