Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#6376 - 05/22/02 01:40 AM Help! My zippo blows out!
Anonymous
Unregistered

I can puff on my zippo and it blows out...from what I understand, this isn't supposed to happen, is there a quick fix for this? Pardon my ignorance, my parents didn't let me get out much as a kid and I'm still learning.

#6377 - 05/22/02 02:48 AM Re: Help! My zippo blows out!
Ade Offline
Enthusiast

Skunk,<br><br>A Zippo will do that. It should, however, require a fairly stiff breeze to blow it out. If you feel it is extinguishing too easily, you can try trimming the wick. I've found that trimming it about an 1/8" below the wind screen works best for mine. Also, make sure it is fueled correctly, just follow the instructions. Also, if your Zippo is brand new, you should wait awhile before trying anything. New Zippos sometimes take awhile to "settle" in. I had one once that didn't work correctly until I had been using it for a month.<br><br>Take care,<br><br>Andy

#6378 - 05/22/02 04:46 AM Re: Help! My zippo blows out!
AyersTG Offline
Veteran

Loc: Upper Mississippi River Valley...
Andy! Where ya been lately? Escaping to the woods, I hope... good to hear from you.<br><br>Tom

#6379 - 05/22/02 09:11 PM Re: Help! My zippo blows out!
Ade Offline
Enthusiast

Tom,<br><br>Actually, I have been laid up for awhile. I sprained my shoulder at work and had my left arm in a sling for a week or so. The arm works again (still hurts, though). I'm going to be on light duty for awhile yet, but I can type again (sort of). The woods will still be there when I'm better (I hope).<br><br>Take care,<br><br>Andy

#6380 - 05/23/02 02:07 AM Re: Help! My zippo blows out!
bill2054 Offline