Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#54043 - 11/18/05 01:19 AM Best Flashlight
kracken Offline

Hi everybody,
I am brand new to this. I stumbled onto this sight looking for knives and realized I already carried around alot of the stuff you reccomend for day to day. Very interesting information here. I am just starting to realize how important it is to be prepared and will be assembling my kits soon. What flashlight to you think would be best for a kit. Is the Shurfire one of the best brands to consider. I have maglights, pelicans, and a browning now. But I have a thing with lights, knives, and multi tools................thanks for your thoughts

#54044 - 11/18/05 01:25 AM Re: Best Flashlight
leemann Offline
Soylent Green
Addict

Loc: At the soylent green plant.
This site has a section on flashlights look there.

Lee
http://datacore.sciflicks.com/soylent_green/sounds/soylent_green_people.wav
RIP OBG

#54045 - 11/18/05 01:43 AM Re: Best Flashlight
Marc Offline
Journeyman

The first response to your type of question is always: "what are you planning on doing with it?, what is important to you? runtime, brightness, availablity of batteries..."
Flashlights are a whole sub-discipline/obsession/moneypit unto themselves.
check out:

Candlepower forums
flashlightreviews.com
led museum

P.S. Goodluck and hide your wallet.

Marc

Edited by Marc (11/18/05 01:44 AM)

#54046 - 11/18/05 09:23 AM Re: Best Flashlight
Raspy Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Centre Hall Pa
That question is like asking which model of SAK is best or which cakiber is best. It bouls down to which one works for the situation or person.

Surefire's are good in their place.

If you want to light up the world you might want one of those multimillion candlepower rechargable spot lights.

If you want to just light up a small corner an led like a Photon.